My New Year’s Resolutions

To say 2015 was a disappointing year for me would be appropriate. It’s through no fault of World events or pop culture, it’s just that 2014 was a banner year for me. I took classes at a Grad student level as a college Junior, I studied abroad in London, and as the year came to a close I had been accepted to study in Los Angeles in the final semester of my Junior year. Every year my family’s Christmas card bears a short blurb on what we all did over the past year, and that one was easily my favorite.

To paraphrase my blurb from this year, “John graduated college and now works part time at a candy store for minimum wage.”

What happened? Well, a number of things I could control and enough that I couldn’t. People keep telling me I shouldn’t take it so hard, but I refuse to hear this life for another year.

Which brings me to my new year’s resolutions. There’s really one blanket one, but I want to get in depth about it since its such a broad thing.

Get my life together

That’s basically it. And that will mean changes for me personally, physically, socially, and most importantly professionally. So let’s break these down.

Get my personal life together

This is where the least work is needed in my opinion. Somehow, even in this personal low point, I still like myself decently enough. If anything, I would like to look into finding a good therapist. I’ve seen enough depression in my time to know the importance of looking after my emotional health. By the end of 2016 I would like to have found a therapist.

Get my physical life together

This is another easy resolution. To be honest the only reason I currently feel bad about my body is because I spent the last 10 days eating holiday meals. Delicious, delicious, holiday meals. Now that I’m returning home where I can only afford large quantities of nuts and oatmeal, that’s going to change. However, I am increasingly aware that my personal fitness has hit a bit of a plateau, not to mention my poor nutritional health. So, in 2016 I would like to find a new direction to take my exercise as well as learn to eat and especially cook healthier.

Get my social life together

I spent too many nights last year veging on the couch watching TV. I feel like I’ve been losing friends since graduation, not gaining them. I’m not an introvert, not all the time, I’m more like a pendulum that swings back and forth. Although I’ve put lots of effort into maintaining my relationship with old high school friends, I feel like I’m not putting the same effort into my college and adult friends. Don’t even get me started on 2015 in my love life either. I’m unsure how best to tackle this one. I guess I’d like to spend 2016 going out more with friends. More lunches and dinners and shows and just things to do. Maybe I’ll even throw a party.

Get my professional life together

Here we arrive at the big one. I know exactly where to start with this resolution, and it is much more specific. In January, I would like to get a better job. Requirements for a better job include, over $9/hour in pay, literally any other uniform (or better yet, no uniform), and not much else. By April, I would like a job in the TV industry, full time. In the meantime, I will be writing every single day this year. Whether that is a script or a post here, I would like to be producing content as opposed to only absorbing like I have the past few months. Within the first quarter of 2016, I would like to have applied to as many writing fellowships as possible. By the end of 2016, I would like to have written a feature, two more pilots, and a short film. I would like to make that short film as well. What I want most of all, is to become less financially dependent on others. I’ve got a wedding to go to this Summer, and I would like to afford my own plane tickets.

Am I biting off more than I can chew? I don’t think so. Like I said, I know my own limitations. I like to be busy, I want to have something to do instead of being bored during my few days off. Keeping up with all of this, which anyone who knows me can feel free to kick my butt over, will make 2016 my best year ever.

-JP

PS, did you miss me?

Leave a Reply

