Two Years Gone By

January 10th, 2015 was my first full day in Los Angeles.

As of January 10th , 2017, I have been living in LA for two full years.

On that first day I woke up on my sister’s couch. I had spent the night there before my apartment would become available that first day.

Today I woke up in my bed, in the bedroom I sublease. I have been living here for almost a year and a half now. While it’s likely I’ll move again this year, I am very happy where I am.

On the first day it was raining, but still around 60 degrees outside.

Today it rained for a little bit and got to about 61 degrees. It has been very rainy in LA recently and I for one am all for it.

I hung around for most of the day, waiting until my apartment would finally be available.

I had the day off, so I slept in late and worked on some outlining before going to the gym in the afternoon.

The only occupation I had was “student”, and I hadn’t secured an internship for my semester in LA yet.

I’m proud to say I now work at Warner Brothers Studios. I may be a Tour Guide on the lot, but everybody has to start somewhere. Plus it’s the first full-time job I’ve ever had.

When I finally moved in to my apartment I met my roommates for the first time. They were almost complete strangers, and I knew only one other student in the program ahead of time.

Now I’m friends with those old roommates, though we don’t see each other as much as I’d like, I’ve made some great friends among my fellow Temple Alumni, and the friends I’ve made because of my job are some of the best I’ve made in my whole life.

We took our first trip together to buy groceries, bonding over food and plans to cook more than in the past.

Today was also a grocery run, though this time solo. Still not cooking as much as I had hoped to. Though I did make some banana pancakes this morning that were BOMB.

That night I crawled into bed, in a room that I shared, anxious about the next day and the semester to come.

Tonight I will sleep in the bedroom I have all to myself. Tomorrow will just be another day in my life. Nothing special about it. Though I would like some change soon. Hopefully by next year I’ll be able to get that anxious energy again.

Now that I am two years into this life I’ve chosen to live, it’s amazing how much my life has stabilized. I’ve lived in the same place for the longest length of time since I grew up in my parent’s home. I’ve worked outside in the blazing heat of the summer and the colder days of the winter, with all kinds of colorful characters riding along my tour cart. It’s my first full-time job, but that stability will allow me to branch out, make connections, and find my place in this business. I’ve found some of my best friends who I would spend every day with if I could. I can finally drive most places without navigation assistance, but it’s also well past time I took a weekend trip somewhere.

Two years. Let’s get on with the third.

-JP

PS, now that I look back on it, maybe 2016 wasn’t so bad for me personally.

 

 

Leave a Reply

